The Good, The Bad & The Ugly

departure

Departure from Eric’s house

After leaving Ottawa behind, the bliss you get from riding through the countryside returned, after almost 2 years out of the saddle. Lots of French towns with small churches in the centre reminding me of the South American trip as Quebec is also predominantly Catholic. We encountered many more motorbikes than in Ontario, Perhaps the insurance rates are more reasonable. Strangely 40-50% of the bikes are Can-Am 3-wheelers. Odd contraptions but they are selling well. I guess people feel safer on 3 wheels vs 2.

canam1canam2

We rode through St Tite (population 10,000), which is the Western Mecca of the world. According to Bernard 700,000 people descent on this village for 10 days in the summer for rodeo events.  200,000 kilo’s of meat is consumed during that time.

st tite

St Tite

We followed the river for a while and then cut north where we met up with Bernard &  Lynn in St Thecle. The last time I saw them was 10 years ago. I hope we don’t let that much time pass until the next time

Screen Shot 2015-05-24 at 5.43.43 PM

The Good

The cottage is magical and a work of art as far as log building goes. It reminds me so much of the house in Bracebridge where I stayed just a couple of weeks ago. It is however much bigger and brighter.

house frontcottageoutside

Their dog “Coach”is very well trained and “the greatest dog in the western world” according to Eric.

coach

lynnOur hostess of the mostess

We ate Texas sizes T-Bone, drank enough wine and talked till 1 p.m. It had been a long and satisfying day.

The Bad

My GPS lost its North American map somehow and I was forced use my phone on the go trying to find Eric’s house in Ottawa. I could not hold the phone and ride at the same time which meant frequent stops. At one point I pulled over and stuffed the phone in the see-through plastic cover on the tank bag. With the acceleration the phone slipped out and tumbled on the road just out of reach of the traffic. All I remember in my minds eye is a freeze-frame of the phone in mid air. Retrieval revealed a scuffed up but still functional S4. I’ll see if I can replace the glass when I’m back in Thailand.

phone

The UGLY

On E-Bay I had ordered some mounts for the Go-Pro camera. They came from China and when I mounted them on the bike I noticed that they did not have the clip to secure it, however the camera slipped in and seemed initially to be mounted solidly enough.

Screen Shot 2015-05-24 at 5.40.07 PM

BIG mistake….. After having it mounted on the top box I stopped along the side of the road to shut it down and looked behind me. No camera!! We did find the shriveled remains back down the road as shown…… You can let something like this ruin your day or move on as fait accompli.

broken go pro

The shore of the St Lawrence is magnificent. I did not expect Ile d’Orleans to be as quaint as it turned out to be. It reminded me of Martha’s Vineyard near Boston.

20150524_162158

20150524_162705

20150524_162910

Immaculately maintained gleaming houses seeming like they were all painted yesterday with pristine gardens. At around 3 p.m. we set up camp on the shore of the river at a well equipped campground including WIFI in the tent. Tomorrow we plan on touring Quebec city and move further north along the St Lawrence on Tuesday…….

camp

Screen Shot 2015-05-25 at 6.49.39 AM

Categories: Uncategorized | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

